FFJ’s Frrebies, July 16th, 2018

Today’s freebies are courtesy of Beyond Midnight Volume 1

Untitled design.jpeg

Magic. Mystery. Mayhem.

Dive into the pages of this alluring anthology and enter a world of mystery and adventure. Stalk the streets of sprawling metropolis’ and hunt terrifying creatures. Explore towering cities where the supernatural is everyday and magic is as common as coffee.

Devour 13 all-new urban fantasy stories from debut and best selling authors.
Pick up your copy of Beyond Midnight today and join the adventure.

Get your copy today for only 99c/p

Read on for your free books…

Continue reading “FFJ’s Frrebies, July 16th, 2018”

Advertisements

LegionMarked is finally here!

I’m so giddy to tell you that I just published another book. This one is LegionMarked and I’m so happy this baby has gone live!

LegionMarked final ebook cover F F John

In this book, we discover what becomes of Vaughn as he continues his quest to stay alive. He’s had it up to here and wants his old life back. To make that happen, sacrifices must be made and alliances must be created. The question is, will that be enough to save him and save mankind?

Be sure to get your copy. If you like action-packed adventures with netherworld demons and supernatural creatures facing off, then you’ll love LEGIONMARKED! It’s free if you’re a Kindle Unlimited reader!

Oh, and don’t forget to read the first book in the series – LEGIONBORN.

And, one more thing…LEGIONSWORN is coming!

 

FFJ’s Freebies June 18, 2018

Today’s books are brought to you by Jacky Dahlhaus and her book Living Like A Vampire.

Staying alive is hard in a world full of bloodsuckers. What do you do to survive?

Kate has just begun her new job as a high school teacher and is looking forward to living her suburban dream life. All her hopes and dreams turn into smoke as a virus turns people into vampires, roaming the world in packs and killing everybody they can get their hands on. Kate has to pretend to be one of them to stay alive. When she accidentally bumps into a handsome sucker who then mysteriously disappears, surviving is no longer the only thing on Kate’s mind.

Will Kate stay alive and human while pursuing this mysterious stranger?

Pick up this action-packed, fast-paced, suspenseful novel and explore the depths of Kate’s emotions as she struggles to make sense of it all.

 

Available at the author’s website, Amazon, Kobo, and Nook.

 

Read on for your freebies…

Continue reading “FFJ’s Freebies June 18, 2018”

FFJ’s Freebies, June 11th, 2018

Today’s freebies come to you compliments of Jesikah Sundin and her book Transitions –

Jesikah Sundin Transitions covers hi res.jpg

“Secrets are foolish creatures, I have learned. No longer do I wish to play with fools…”

Five weeks after the Great Fire, the village square in New Eden Township bustles with rebuilding activities. Hope begins to flicker as a new future rises from the ashes of deception. Yet for three newly appointed Elements–Ember Watson, Skylar Kane, and Rain Daniels–the many transitions to Project Phase Two expose dark secrets that demand sacrifices. Sacrifices, they discover, that may still destroy the very community they vowed to protect and serve.

Beyond the dome walls, Mackenzie Ferguson and Lynden Nichols refuse to feel powerless as Fillion Nichols stands trial. But, under constant surveillance, control and privacy seem as elusive as hope. Then Mack schemes an outrageous idea to help his friend reclaim ground by using the law to create an opportunity. The very same law, Lynden learns, that places her and Coal Hansen at risk of being forever separated.

A prequel to GAMEMASTER, book three in The Biodome Chronicles, this collection of novellas allows the reader to embark on a journey with Ember, Skylar, Rain, Mack, and Lynden as they untangle truth from lies and rebuild hope after betrayal.

GET IT NOW FOR 2.99 OR GET IT FOR FREE ON JUNE 12TH!

Scroll on down for more freebies… Continue reading “FFJ’s Freebies, June 11th, 2018”

#writinglessons Um, Transformers The Last Knight

The weeks before Avengers Infinity War came out, my sons and I watched most of the movies in the Marvel Universe. Thor, Spiderman, Iron Man, Captain America, Black Panther. We were ready when we finally got to the Avengers flick.

After all that ‘studying’, I wanted some more action. Some more…franchise. And so, I opted for a goody I was familiar with–Transformers. Right now, I’m humming the theme song to the cartoon from the 80s, loll!

From the very start, it was clear the movie had an insane budget, I mean the opening sequence was nothing but a huge fighting scene from Arthurian times. Then, we were introduced to Merlin and things went left. Why? Merlin was trying to be funny. He really wasn’t funny and from that point, the more it went downhill.

As a writer, I’m always trying to learn from more experienced content creators out there. Hollywood movies are a goldmine to tap from and so despite my reservations, I chose to continue watching. I quickly realized that the movie had way too many ‘comedians’. There were all the transformer bots with their ‘witty ‘ commentary. Then there was the MC played by Mark Wahlberg, who always had something snappy to say. The little girl, who he called mini J-Lo, she’s apparently Latina and so must be saucy and comparable to Jennifer Lopez, I guess (my point being nothing other than the comment wasn’t funny). Oh, I better not forget the black guy who wasn’t funny either or the apparently Native American ‘Chief’ who came out of nowhere but played no role and didn’t need to be there.

Gosh, I started off talking about having too many comedians and have delved into having too many characters it seems. And in this case, both issues are connected in the movie. There were more characters talking and playing semi-important roles than necessary and I took that as a lesson to not repeat in my future books. Limit your story to essential characters. Remove those who add nothing to the plot.

As for the comedians, the lesson there was clear–unless your story is a comedy, rely on fewer funny characters. And actually make them funny. Too many cooks in the kitchen and all that. I don’t hold the Fast and the Furious franchise as an example of movie distinction but there’s a reason why the last movie did so well. (I watched that one again as well). The Tyrese character added a little bit of humor by being silly as did the character played by Ludacris. That was it. Light banter and chemistry, no full on jokes. Their story was cohesive and not disjointed with a bunch of irrelevant characters trying to outspoken each other.

Oh well, maybe I just miss the Transformer cartoons of my youth. They were straightforward — bad bots got crushed. That’s why I invested in the movie franchise, frankly. The Witwickis need to come back in the next installment. Now that was a funny family. That and Megan Fox.  Her replacement in the last movie was just fine but it would be nice to see the old gang back.

Gosh, I got distracted again.

I’ll end by saying my boys (both on 15) enjoyed all the explosions. Sadly, the story seemed disjointed and disconnected to me. I know the creative process is far from easy (boy, do I ever), and one additional lesson I’ve learned from this flick is you can’t distract consumers from the flaws in a story with…well, explosions.

FFJ’s Freebies, June 5th, 2018

Today’s freebies come to you by way of C. C. Ekeke’s Star Brigade.

Humankind is under siege. Time to send in Star Brigade.

Following a deadly ambush, Captain Nwosu is tasked with resurrecting a once elite unit of covert supersoldiers.

He must now rally an unlikely, untested band of brothers to protect Union Space–and humankind’s survival–from galactic empire upheaval.

If he can’t, they’re all as good as dead.

Star Brigade: Resurgent is filled with wonderfully complex layers of character drama and space soldiering, political conflict and rich world-building. The intensity of Arthur C. Clarke with an expanded universe found in the likes of Mass Effect.

Get lost in the kind of immersive space opera you love to read today. 

Only 99c until June 6th, 2018! Get your copy now!

Amazon USAmazon UKAmazon CA

Scroll down for your freebies… Continue reading “FFJ’s Freebies, June 5th, 2018”

FFJ’s Freebies, May 28th, 2018

Today’s freebies are brought to you by –

LegionMarked final ebook cover F F John

A soul in the balance. Humanity at risk. A supernatural alliance could save us all.

My name is Vaughn Prentiss and although he tried and failed, Lucifer still wants me dead. With each passing day, I fight off foul-smelling orcs, fire-spitting drachen and other demon spawn intent on delivering my soul to their master.

I’ve had enough! I want my life back.

To do that, I need an army and Legion won’t do. I’ve got to travel to New Orleans and make friends with some dangerous supernatural types. I’m talking druids, werewolves, witches, and vampires. And I have to move quickly because Lucifer has offered me an ultimatum I can’t accept.

Trust and time are of the essence for one who’s marked like I am. And if I fail, life as I know it will be over.

LEGIONMARKED is book two of the LegionBorn series, an urban fantasy tale in the tradition of Kevin Hearne, Jim Butcher, and Patricia Briggs.

Preorder your copy today!

And now, scroll down for some free goodies… Continue reading “FFJ’s Freebies, May 28th, 2018”

FFJ’s Freebies, May 22nd, 2018

Today’s list of freebies is brought to you by

Shifters fear her. The police despise her. The world needs her.

Jenna Morgan hunts dragon shapeshifters and places them in the cities of New haven–captive cities designed to keep them human and docile.

But Jenna carries a secret that’s on the verge of being exposed. Half human–half dragon–Jenna’s secret could land her on the inside of the barrier–for good. When tragedy strikes, Jenna needs to put aside her own personal rage.

Along with her ex-fiance, her team digs to unravel a murder conspiracy, save an innocent teen girl, and go against the politicians that are controlling them all.

The shifters may be living on borrowed time. To save a girl, to unlock the key to their survival, Jenna may need to embrace her inner dragon after all.

Purchase today for 0.99c at Amazon or for free via Kindle Unlimited!

 

Read on for some freebies.

Continue reading “FFJ’s Freebies, May 22nd, 2018”

FFJ’s Freebies, May 13th, 2018

While buying books to read this week, I came across a couple of freebies.

Here they are, ripe and ready for picking.

Don’t forget to read your books and leave a kind review for the author when you’re done. That is always a great way to ‘tip’ and author. That and buying their books 😀

Enjoy!

Continue reading “FFJ’s Freebies, May 13th, 2018”